Restless Star Mia Wasikowska

Wasikowska has been dabbling in photography (while reading Susan Sontag’s On Photography) and grew up in Australia watching Krzysztof Kieslowski’s color trilogy (Red, White, and Blue) and art house flicks by Jean-Luc Godard.

Wasikowska and I have both watched those movies of Kieslowski’s color trilogy. This is unusual to me because I have not heard of a lot of people who even know what the trilogy is. I’m not saying that White was fantastic (because it definitely wasn’t) but Blue and Red were really good.

I’m a huge Juliette Binoche fan so I had to watch Blue and I even bought some songs from the soundtrack because it was so haunting.

I’m excited to see the new Jane Eyre that Wasikowska is in. I hope it lives up to the book’s legacy. There are so many Bronte-based movies that I would hope that it isn’t giving it anything less than what it is due. I will take a book by a Bronte sister any time over a Jane Austen one. Austen is just too stuffy for my tastes AKA I have actually finished Bronte books but never really got into Austen because of those interminable ramblings-on by the characters that go out on a picnic and never say anything of interest.
/rant

Leave a Reply

