Dia de los Muertos papier mache project

This book, The Big-Ass Book of Crafts, is spectacular. 

For the Day of the Dead (Dia de los Muertos), I am making a shrine in the bay window of the house I am living in. Today some friends and I ventured to Goodwill to find some things to put on our skulls. Well, what we did was take a base of Arizona ice tea plastic bottle things (and for me, an empty wine bottle) and papier mache that, then add a balloon for the head. I got a bunch of kitchy/cool things to add to my project. We painted them with acrylic paint and then hot-glue-gunned the stuff on. 

The one that has the suit is by my friend Lauren.

Leave a Reply

