Rooster sauce, anyone?

Robert Yager for The New York Times

As I was trolling along today going to a page I had marked as something I should blog about, something caught my eye on www.nytimes.com. Now, you needn’t be alarmed but it said “A Chili Sauce to Crow About” and I was intrigued.

The thing about this particular sauce is that I have been using it on everything that needs to be spiced up for a few years now. The New York Times proudly says that it is “properly pronounced SIR-rotch-ah” and like the rooster that poses on the bottles, the NY Times can do whatever they want. I love this red chili sauce because it is the same every time and never gets old. You can add it to almost anything and you would just keep enhancing the flavor. 

My family first came upon it at some Chinese restaurant and when I saw it at the supermarket, I asked if we could get some. Right now in my fridge, as a college student, I am always stocked with a bottle. It’s not that I use it like Heinz Ketchup, it’s just that I need it like some foodies need Heinz Ketchup. 

I am glad to hear that these fine people who make the sauce are not hurting in this economy. Everyone seems to need a good burn every once and again.

Leave a Reply

